Pride

Today, I spoke as an accepted medical student at one of our school’s pre-med clubs. There were 4 other accepted students who were speaking there, all of whom are current undergraduates and not taking a gap year. We each answered the audience’s questions, and the others spoke about how they got into 5 schools, got interviewed at 10, got waitlisted at 5… so on and so forth. Then came me. 1 interview, 1 acceptance. PLUS a gap year and second time applying.

I know I shouldn’t compare myself to others, but when sitting in front of dozens of pre-meds who are listening for good advices from success stories, I couldn’t help but think that it was a mistake to go there.

Often times, people only care about the results. Numbers are all they see. Throughout the night, I had to repeatedly tell myself, “I too am a success story. I should be proud of where I am.” I just hope there comes a day when I stop comparing myself to those around me and value the experiences from this past year.

I got really lucky. Out of 14 schools, 1 accepted me. If I hadn’t applied to my future school, I would be applying again soon for the third time or pursuing other career paths, in addition to being disappointed, depressed, anxious, *insert all words to describe negative emotions*

But maybe it wasn’t luck. I aimed high when I applied to college and got into 2 schools. I aimed high when I applied to med schools and got into 1. I would like to think that this is a way God has been leading me to where I should be in life without ambiguity. I came to UVa, fell in love, and thanked Him for directing me here. And I’m sure it’ll be the same with Penn State.

Leave a Reply

