“For dust you are and to dust you shall return.”

Genesis 3:19

I know. It’s kind of crazy, but Lent is already here! College is where I really started to give something up for 40 days, and each year it was very different. I’ve tried soda, Facebook, coffee (oh boy, that was rough), morning sleep by going to daily Mass at 8AM (which didn’t last very long. I know, what a failure)…

This year, I’m trying to read the Bible from start to finish during the Lenten season. Some people discourage it because it forces you to read too quickly to read in depth, but for someone like me who’s never read it in its entirety, I thought it would be challenging yet very meaningful.

Here is the 40-day reading guide that I’m hoping to follow:

http://margaretfeinberg.com/the-40-day-bible-reading-challenge-begins-today-dont-miss-out-on-the-wonder-of-scripture/

I’ve started reading the Genesis last night/this morning, and even though I’ve taken a class on the Old Testament, I’ve forgotten how dense it was. After 5 pages of reading, I had 50 different questions and couldn’t believe how much has happened already: God created the world, Adam and Eve sinned, Cain killed Abel, Adam had another son named Seth, and many many generations later, Noah built his ark. All of this happened in 5 pages. 5 PAGES!! Though it’s intimidating and I’m afraid I’ll fall behind, I pray that He’ll help me through this challenge.

I’m also trying to pick out verses that really spoke out to me in particular, and hopefully I’ll post more verses to share here. The verse that I want to share today is Genesis 3:19, “For dust you are and to dust you shall return.” How fitting for Ash Wednesday huh?

I’ll definitely write more later, but for now, I have a full day(?) of tutoring and Mass ahead of me still. So until next time!

P.S. I’m dying of hunger ㅋㅋㅋ

Leave a Reply

