Old Age

One of my goals for this year is to read as many books as I can. I’ve only finished two so far, but I really wanted to share a passage from one of them.

This was the most thought-provoking part of a book that was mentioned in an earlier post: Drop Dead Healthy. Here, the author describes his grandfather whose health is deteriorating. The way he compares old people to babies was really significant to me for a number of reasons.

When I went to Korea this past summer, I met my grandmothers for the first time in 9 years.

My 친할머니 (grandmother on my dad’s side) who turned 90 has alzheimer’s and kept forgetting every 10 minutes who I was. Luckily, she remembered when my aunt told her my name, but she had to be reminded numerous times throughout the night I saw her.

My 외할머니 (grandmother on my mom’s side) who is now 92 years old couldn’t remember who I was at all. Only after 15 minutes of repeating that I’m her granddaughter along with my name and showing her a very old photo of me, was she able to identify me. She became much smaller than I remember as she constantly hunches over, but I guess 9 years is a very long time allotting more changes than I expected.

Aunts and uncles were not as healthy as I remember, older cousins have gotten married and had kids, and younger cousins have grown so much that I couldn’t recognize them. All of my relatives’ homes are exactly the same as 9 years ago, but seeing the people made me overwhelmingly sad. I wish I could have spent more time with my grandmothers and took care of them, but more than that, I wish my parents were able to visit them more frequently.

Anyway, I recommend this book to anyone interested in being/staying healthy or anyone just looking for an easy read. It was such a pleasure to read at least for me, being the science nerd that I am. Now, onto my next novel and hopefully many many more!

Leave a Reply

