Part of the Band

Playing piano for Mass especially at a big church like STA was one of the most nerve-racking experience I’ve had recently. I knew I wanted to stay involved in Church even after graduation so I joined the LifeTeen band (aka bingo bango bongo band according to Fr. Scordo haha) last week. Although we practiced for 5+ hours, I still felt really nervous about playing in front of so many people for the first time. Admittedly, I messed up many times (hopefully the mistakes weren’t too noticeable) and am still anxious about playing again, but I realized that I missed music.

I learned something from a little girl today. As I was walking out from the church, a girl about 9 or 10 years old came up to me and said, “Thank you for playing today.” I never thought to thank the band or anyone who help out, but without all these volunteers spending hours making sure everything runs smoothly, Mass would not be possible at such a large scale. Maybe I should take a moment to be thankful for them instead of hurrying out as soon as the recessional song is over.

Leave a Reply

