As It Is in Heaven

After 2 months of skipping Mass, I finally forced myself to go to confession tonight.

For my penance, I had to say the Our Father a few times, but as I kneeled down right after confession and started praying, I realized that I had forgotten that prayer; tonight, I tried to pray more slowly to really understand the words, but the fact that I wasn’t following the usual rhythm in which I prayed Our Father was enough to throw me off guard and forget the words, even though I’d repeated it thousands of times.

Maybe for 13 years I had simply memorized it by the flow and the rhythm, rather than the words and their meaning…

Going to confession today reminded me of KCSM (Korean Catholic Student Ministry), a group I became very attached to during my time at UVa. Now that I think about it, being a part of that group and devoting my time to it as an officer were what motivated me to attend Mass every Sunday. And now that I think about it, I probably wouldn’t feel this close to the Church if I hadn’t been in that group. I’m really thankful for all the wonderful people I’ve met through it and for how much it shaped my life.

It’s always surprising how much the Church teaches me every time I step inside, and I can’t wait to see what I’ll learn next.

St. Thomas Aquinas Church is another reason why I love Charlottesville; it's always so beautiful and welcoming.
St. Thomas Aquinas Church is another reason why I love Charlottesville; it’s always so beautiful and welcoming.
Leave a Reply

